Computer Reset - VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum
MK3 Discussion area for the third generation Golf III and Jetta III produced from 1993 to 1999 including Cabrio models.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-19-2009, 07:47 PM Thread Starter
Member
Points: 1,513, Level: 22 Points: 1,513, Level: 22 Points: 1,513, Level: 22
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Computer Reset

Just replaces the 02 sensors on my Jetta, will the check engine light go off after a while or do I need to reset the computer?
trascheasche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-19-2009, 09:41 PM
Moderator
Points: 13,627, Level: 75 Points: 13,627, Level: 75 Points: 13,627, Level: 75
Activity: 6% Activity: 6% Activity: 6%
 
mcrow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 2,663
should go off on its own, if not you have to clear the codes if you have an obd2 car. 96-99 is obd2
mcrow is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-19-2009, 10:31 PM
Posting Elite
Points: 6,220, Level: 51 Points: 6,220, Level: 51 Points: 6,220, Level: 51
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: pittsburgh, pa
Posts: 965
i think you'll have to do it yourself


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

I have a low tolerance for stupidity.
96 Jetta GLS OEM+, 2004.5 Jetta GLI
Hopeful next project: Silver Arrow GTI
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

96 JTIVR, 96 Jetta GLS, 98 WOB, 97 GTI DE, 97 GLX (sold)
96GTIVR6 is offline  
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-25-2009, 11:14 AM Thread Starter
Member
Points: 1,513, Level: 22 Points: 1,513, Level: 22 Points: 1,513, Level: 22
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
How can I do it myself, do I need a OBD2 or is there another way that I can reset it?
trascheasche is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-25-2009, 12:18 PM
Super Moderator
Points: 2,639, Level: 31 Points: 2,639, Level: 31 Points: 2,639, Level: 31
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Musicmaaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alberta Canada
Posts: 603
have you just tried pulling the ground off the battery and leaving it for half an hour? i have heard that it sometimes works, my check engine light came on because of a bad ignition coil (I MEAN IT WAS BAD) so i cleaned up the grounds and it worked but the light was still on....i just unplugged the battery and it was all back to normal!

96 Jetta GLS-Sold (unfortunately)

Now have a 2009 Dodge ram 2500 (but thats not stopping me from being here...seeing as how i did own a VW for a while!)
-Only because i live in alberta and we are truck guys out here!

Stereo Setup Sold with Jetta- However install in truck is starting to get into motion.
Plans
-ALL JL AUDIO, 2-12W3 subs, 1500W TMA Monoblock, 400W TMA fourchannel, 2 Sets of components, with Double din touchscreen and GPS ALL CUSTOM
Musicmaaster is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 06-25-2009, 04:05 PM Thread Starter
Member
Points: 1,513, Level: 22 Points: 1,513, Level: 22 Points: 1,513, Level: 22
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 8
Tried disconnecting the battery twice once for 15 then another for 25, maybe ill take it off again for a little longer. But since then Ive been to two auto part stores and had the codes cleared but then after 20 or so miles the light comes back on. I dont know what could be going wrong, I just took the sensor off then put another one on. Also today I put a product Seafoam in my gas tank, a guy said it might help clean off whatever is causing the error.

Anyone have any other ideas on what might be causing the light to keep coming on?? Im pretty clueless at this point.
trascheasche is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum > Volkswagen Models > MK3

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ABS Light Reset Kator MK3 0 06-05-2008 06:22 PM
MK 3 odometer reset tonydea MK3 8 06-05-2007 07:10 AM
Help with Golf IV inspection reset?? Stefi783 MK4 1 12-05-2006 06:59 AM
reset my ecu Klipse MK4 0 04-13-2006 04:27 PM
How do I reset Cam to TDC? JettaPheak MK2 2 01-09-2003 10:47 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome