aftermarket headunit - VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum
VW Forum VW Forum

» Auto Insurance
» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Go Back   VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum > Volkswagen Models > MK4

MK4 Discussion area for the new fourth generation Golf IV, 337, R32, 20th and Jetta IV produced from 1998 to 2004.5 including Cabrio models.

VwForum.com is the premier Volkswagen Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 07:36 PM
mitwehrli0317's Avatar
Junior Member
Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 226
Default aftermarket headunit

I put a Pioneer touchscreen in my mk4 jetta and theres a wire you're suppose to hook up to the Ebrake so you can play dvd's.. anyways, instead of messing with all that, could'nt I just ground that wire somewhere in my car?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 08:27 PM
Senior Member
Points: 3,714, Level: 38 Points: 3,714, Level: 38 Points: 3,714, Level: 38
Activity: 27% Activity: 27% Activity: 27%
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 490
Default

Depends.......

What is it looking for to activate the DVD player, powner or ground on that wire?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2013, 09:23 PM
Pssst...passed you's Avatar
Knows nothing about VWs
Lifetime Supporting Member
Points: 30,779, Level: 100 Points: 30,779, Level: 100 Points: 30,779, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,711
Default

I believe it looks for the engagement singal. You need to use a resistor to trick this. It is meant to make the DVD player only work when parked.
__________________
OPEN ROAD TUNING
P: 610.572.2898 // E: info@openroadtuning.com // Facebook // G+


BSATUNING
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 12:50 AM
mitwehrli0317's Avatar
Junior Member
Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 226
Default



this is what was on the end of the wire for my dvd player..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 07:24 AM
Pssst...passed you's Avatar
Knows nothing about VWs
Lifetime Supporting Member
Points: 30,779, Level: 100 Points: 30,779, Level: 100 Points: 30,779, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,711
Default

Yep, it is a 3m wire splice. It crimps onto your signal wire for the e- brake.
__________________
OPEN ROAD TUNING
P: 610.572.2898 // E: info@openroadtuning.com // Facebook // G+


BSATUNING
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 08:47 AM
_FUBAR_'s Avatar
MK4 & MK5 Owner
Lifetime Supporting Member
Points: 35,925, Level: 100 Points: 35,925, Level: 100 Points: 35,925, Level: 100
Activity: 53% Activity: 53% Activity: 53%
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pittsburghish
Posts: 8,245
Default

So its working on the drl technically. You could probably hook it up there to the ebrake wire and disable the drl's which will let theDVD player play when ever. Not sure what wire it get hooked up to under the ebrake but I'm sure its only one under there.
__________________
MK4 & MK5 Owner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 09:31 AM
mitwehrli0317's Avatar
Junior Member
Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 226
Default

ok, so how do I get to that wire? Do I have to tear up my center counsel/cup holder thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 02:17 PM
Pssst...passed you's Avatar
Knows nothing about VWs
Lifetime Supporting Member
Points: 30,779, Level: 100 Points: 30,779, Level: 100 Points: 30,779, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,711
Default

I hooked my turbo timer to mine so I don't leave the car running in neutral without the e-brake. I had to pull my console up to reach it. I think it was brown.
__________________
OPEN ROAD TUNING
P: 610.572.2898 // E: info@openroadtuning.com // Facebook // G+


BSATUNING
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2013, 07:22 PM
_FUBAR_'s Avatar
MK4 & MK5 Owner
Lifetime Supporting Member
Points: 35,925, Level: 100 Points: 35,925, Level: 100 Points: 35,925, Level: 100
Activity: 53% Activity: 53% Activity: 53%
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pittsburghish
Posts: 8,245
Default



__________________
MK4 & MK5 Owner.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum > Volkswagen Models > MK4

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
00 V6- Replacing stock headunit w/ aftermarket headunit AirmaxRC Passat 5 03-03-2010 08:24 PM
installing a new headunit(aftermarket) Chopperdave MK3 4 10-20-2006 05:21 PM

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
VWforum.com is a Volkswagen/VW Forum and enthusiast site and is not associated with VW/Volkswagen in any way.