aftermarket headunit - VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum
MK4 Discussion area for the new fourth generation Golf IV, 337, R32, 20th and Jetta IV produced from 1998 to 2004.5 including Cabrio models.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-06-2013, 07:36 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
 
mitwehrli0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 226
aftermarket headunit

I put a Pioneer touchscreen in my mk4 jetta and theres a wire you're suppose to hook up to the Ebrake so you can play dvd's.. anyways, instead of messing with all that, could'nt I just ground that wire somewhere in my car?
mitwehrli0317 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-06-2013, 08:27 PM
Evolved Member
Points: 4,054, Level: 40 Points: 4,054, Level: 40 Points: 4,054, Level: 40
Activity: 20% Activity: 20% Activity: 20%
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 502
Depends.......

What is it looking for to activate the DVD player, powner or ground on that wire?
2001Jettagls is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-06-2013, 09:23 PM
Knows nothing about VWs
Points: 33,280, Level: 100 Points: 33,280, Level: 100 Points: 33,280, Level: 100
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Pssst...passed you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,852
Garage
I believe it looks for the engagement singal. You need to use a resistor to trick this. It is meant to make the DVD player only work when parked.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pssst...passed you is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 12:50 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
 
mitwehrli0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 226


this is what was on the end of the wire for my dvd player..
mitwehrli0317 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 07:24 AM
Knows nothing about VWs
Points: 33,280, Level: 100 Points: 33,280, Level: 100 Points: 33,280, Level: 100
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Pssst...passed you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,852
Garage
Yep, it is a 3m wire splice. It crimps onto your signal wire for the e- brake.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pssst...passed you is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 08:47 AM
MK4 & MK5 Owner
Points: 39,527, Level: 100 Points: 39,527, Level: 100 Points: 39,527, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
_FUBAR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pittsburghish
Posts: 8,347
Garage
So its working on the drl technically. You could probably hook it up there to the ebrake wire and disable the drl's which will let theDVD player play when ever. Not sure what wire it get hooked up to under the ebrake but I'm sure its only one under there.

MK4 & MK5 Owner.
_FUBAR_ is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 09:31 AM Thread Starter
Junior Member
Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32 Points: 2,870, Level: 32
Activity: 40% Activity: 40% Activity: 40%
 
mitwehrli0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Illinois
Posts: 226
ok, so how do I get to that wire? Do I have to tear up my center counsel/cup holder thing
mitwehrli0317 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 02:17 PM
Knows nothing about VWs
Points: 33,280, Level: 100 Points: 33,280, Level: 100 Points: 33,280, Level: 100
Activity: 50% Activity: 50% Activity: 50%
 
Pssst...passed you's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Illinois
Posts: 6,852
Garage
I hooked my turbo timer to mine so I don't leave the car running in neutral without the e-brake. I had to pull my console up to reach it. I think it was brown.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Pssst...passed you is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 01-07-2013, 07:22 PM
MK4 & MK5 Owner
Points: 39,527, Level: 100 Points: 39,527, Level: 100 Points: 39,527, Level: 100
Activity: 99% Activity: 99% Activity: 99%
 
_FUBAR_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Pittsburghish
Posts: 8,347
Garage



MK4 & MK5 Owner.
_FUBAR_ is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum > Volkswagen Models > MK4

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
00 V6- Replacing stock headunit w/ aftermarket headunit AirmaxRC Passat 5 03-03-2010 08:24 PM
installing a new headunit(aftermarket) Chopperdave MK3 4 10-20-2006 05:21 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome