narrowband to wideband - VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum
MK4 Discussion area for the new fourth generation Golf IV, 337, R32, 20th and Jetta IV produced from 1998 to 2004.5 including Cabrio models.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2013, 05:44 PM Thread Starter
No Life Outside VWforum
Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Flarida
Posts: 2,375
narrowband to wideband

im in the process of figuring out how to do a narrowband to wideband ecu swap. and ive ran into a couple problems. i was told that with vagcom i can rewrite an automatic ecu to work on a manual 1.8t. but im not sure of that. and also i cant find any sort of a wiring diagram that shows which wires i need to add and what not into the ecu plug

ASE certified collision refinishing technician

2001 jetta 1.8t: build in progress
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
by
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, on Flickr
-vdub- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2013, 12:31 PM
Resident Post Whore
Points: 23,788, Level: 94 Points: 23,788, Level: 94 Points: 23,788, Level: 94
Activity: 75% Activity: 75% Activity: 75%
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: mantua ohio
Posts: 2,538
Garage
Send a message via AIM to stealthpassat
IF you don't mind me what is the point of swapping over?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stealthpassat is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2013, 05:45 PM Thread Starter
No Life Outside VWforum
Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Flarida
Posts: 2,375
eurodyne isnt compatible with narrowband ecu's. otherwise i wouldnt give a shit lol.

ASE certified collision refinishing technician

2001 jetta 1.8t: build in progress
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
by
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, on Flickr
-vdub- is offline  
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2013, 06:14 PM
Resident Post Whore
Points: 23,788, Level: 94 Points: 23,788, Level: 94 Points: 23,788, Level: 94
Activity: 75% Activity: 75% Activity: 75%
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: mantua ohio
Posts: 2,538
Garage
Send a message via AIM to stealthpassat
lol makes sense I honestly didn't know anything about the swap i wasn't being a smart ass or anything.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stealthpassat is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2013, 10:54 PM Thread Starter
No Life Outside VWforum
Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Flarida
Posts: 2,375
no one seems to know anything about it. ive found one diy and it has no pics, which make it basically useless. i have a basic idea of what needs done. but ive been talking with chris green at usp motorsports and he said he'll charge 3 hours labor to do it for me. so i may just go that route. any clue about being able to recode an auto ecu to manual on vagcom?

ASE certified collision refinishing technician

2001 jetta 1.8t: build in progress
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
by
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, on Flickr
-vdub- is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2013, 07:09 AM
Resident Post Whore
Points: 23,788, Level: 94 Points: 23,788, Level: 94 Points: 23,788, Level: 94
Activity: 75% Activity: 75% Activity: 75%
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: mantua ohio
Posts: 2,538
Garage
Send a message via AIM to stealthpassat
Hope this helps
VWVortex.com - Recode ECU from Auto to Manual


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
stealthpassat is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-24-2013, 09:10 PM Thread Starter
No Life Outside VWforum
Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Flarida
Posts: 2,375
chris said he was going to look into it for me, hes never done it, but if its possible i feel confident he would be able to. sounds a little controversial in that thread but it does seem like theres some valid info that says its possible

ASE certified collision refinishing technician

2001 jetta 1.8t: build in progress
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
by
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, on Flickr
-vdub- is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 11:42 AM
Moderator
Points: 35,348, Level: 100 Points: 35,348, Level: 100 Points: 35,348, Level: 100
Activity: 5% Activity: 5% Activity: 5%
 
fukn_dubn_gti's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wernersville, PA
Posts: 9,716
Garage
Send a message via AIM to fukn_dubn_gti
it can be done.
all that is basically coding inside the ecu.
to re-write it you basically wipe out the ecu completely.
you then must enter codes in certain orders.
i mean all the coding. not just the trans codes. literally everything.
only then. will it work. and if you mess up one number.. one character.. or just simply the order.. it will not work.

thats the only way i know of to do it. ive personally havent done it.. But.. ive been toying with the idea of doing it and selling coded manual (automatic) ecus. for that exact reason.

Mods:
More Than You
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
fukn_dubn_gti is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-25-2013, 12:37 PM Thread Starter
No Life Outside VWforum
Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65 Points: 9,545, Level: 65
Activity: 17% Activity: 17% Activity: 17%
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Flarida
Posts: 2,375
That would be a pain in the ass. Which is why I'm going to pay usp to do it, I just want to make sure it's possible for myself and then give them whatever info I can about it. I just don't have the time to deal with it and I need it done like yesterday lol. But thanks for the info I'm gonna keep everything updated with how it goes so someone else can just search for it.

The thread on vortex seems to say that if I have the skc (secret key code) the recoding could be done with just the transmission codes being changed without having to wipe the whole thing clean

ASE certified collision refinishing technician

2001 jetta 1.8t: build in progress
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.




To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
by
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 5 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
, on Flickr
-vdub- is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum > Volkswagen Models > MK4

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wideband on your car?!?! Momo MK4 9 05-01-2009 11:52 AM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome