VW Forum VW Forum

Go Back   VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum > The Xtra's > The Xtras
Register Home VW Forum Active Topics Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

The Xtras The discussion forum weird findings, toys & off-topic threads.

       
VW Forum is the premier VW Forum (Volkswagen Forum) and VW News (Volkswagen News) Source on the internet. We discuss all VW cars, VW SUVs and all Volkswagen models on the VW forum. Registered Users do not see the above ads. Please Register - It's Free!

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2004, 10:55 AM
Senior Member
Points: 14,809, Level: 78 Points: 14,809, Level: 78 Points: 14,809, Level: 78
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 5,016
Default Possible Paypal scam!

Hey guys, just wanted to let you know that there might be a possible scam going around targeting Paypal users. I just recieved a poorly written email trying to get me to click on links and "update" my account...if you recieve this email as well...whatever you do, don't click on any of the links, and forward the message to spoof@paypal.com and after you forward it, delete it with extreme prejudice.

Here is a copy of the email that was sent to me, I have removed the links for everyone's safety.

Below is the result of your feedback form. It was submitted by
(FRMPM4@aol.com) on Sunday, August 22, 2004 at 03:09:23
---------------------------------------------------------------------------

: Dear Paypal customer,we are sorry to inform you that we are having problem's
with the billing information on your account.
We would appreciate it if you would goto our website and fill out the proper
information that we require to keep your account
active

Please Update your account information by visiting our updates web site below.

http:\\r.aol.com\cgi\redir-complex?url=http://
We are here to serve you
Steve Johnson.
Billing Updates Center
Acoount Updates Team.
2004

http:\\r.aol.com\cgi\redir-complex?url=http:/
RO0OEA




















YJ5JPB

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Confidentiality DisclaimerThis email and any files transmitted with it may
contain confidential and/or proprietary information in the possession of Phoenix
Health Care Management Services, and is intended only for the individual or
entity to whom addressed. This email may contain information that is held to be
privileged, confidential and exempt from disclosure under applicable law. If the
reader of this message is not the intended recipient, you are hereby notified
that any unauthorized access, dissemination, distribution or copying of any
information from this email is strictly prohibited, and may subject you to
criminal and/or civil liability. If you have received this email in error,
please notify the sender by reply email and then delete this email and its
attachments from your computer. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2004, 02:57 PM
Senior Member
Points: 5,997, Level: 50 Points: 5,997, Level: 50 Points: 5,997, Level: 50
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 1,069
Send a message via AIM to SupermanwOOt
Default

good update...thanks for looking out for us
Quote:
Originally Posted by GTIVR62801
delete it with extreme prejudice
__________________
-Paul-
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2004, 12:02 AM
shedpress's Avatar
Moderator
Points: 25,559, Level: 96 Points: 25,559, Level: 96 Points: 25,559, Level: 96
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Christiansburg, VA
Posts: 7,825
Send a message via AIM to shedpress Send a message via MSN to shedpress
Default

I got that same email a while ago. I reported it to spoof@paypal.com too. got to watch your backs!! good call carson!!
__________________
:: brian@shedpress ::
webpage | myspace page | "the ink tub" blog
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2004, 09:21 AM
Senior Member
Points: 24,113, Level: 94 Points: 24,113, Level: 94 Points: 24,113, Level: 94
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: York, PA
Posts: 8,192
Send a message via AIM to 98a4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silverGTI
I got that same email a while ago. I reported it to spoof@paypal.com too. got to watch your backs!! good call carson!!
Thanks for warning us Brian!!! Ass!

I'll look out for that Carson... I got one on some class action suit a few weeks ago...?
__________________
Dipkoda
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2004, 10:50 AM
Senior Member
Points: 11,732, Level: 71 Points: 11,732, Level: 71 Points: 11,732, Level: 71
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 3,475
Send a message via AIM to 1point8T Send a message via MSN to 1point8T
Default

thanks for the heads up carson!

dakota, i also got that email for the lawsuit. what's up with all that? i didn't know they were getting sued.
__________________
Anthony
------------------------------


representing the VWF in the T.O!

If you buy a Honda, you end up with a Honda! If you buy a Volkswagen, you don't!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-23-2004, 11:06 AM
Senior Member
Points: 14,302, Level: 77 Points: 14,302, Level: 77 Points: 14,302, Level: 77
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: quakertawn
Posts: 3,901
Send a message via AIM to das boot
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 98a4
I got one on some class action suit a few weeks ago...?
That was a real one.

If you're ever not sure of the email's validity, just copy and paste the subject line into google, if it's a hoax it'll be on snopes.com or another hoax-busting site.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 06-02-2008, 11:25 PM
Junior Member
Points: 24, Level: 1 Points: 24, Level: 1 Points: 24, Level: 1
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
Default

One of the best way to tell if it is a scam or it is real is PayPal will not send you an e-mail addressing you as Dear PayPal Member. PayPal will use your name. Also, if you click on the UPDATE you will see their phony URL address. These people are so dumb that they can't spell and use bad English. When in doubt, delete.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 12:48 AM
Senior Member
Points: 26,282, Level: 96 Points: 26,282, Level: 96 Points: 26,282, Level: 96
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Allentown
Posts: 7,451
Send a message via AIM to mk-4gasm
Default

Did you really join the site to respond to a post that is 4 years old?
__________________
Josh

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 06-03-2008, 04:27 PM
Senior Member
Points: 2,206, Level: 28 Points: 2,206, Level: 28 Points: 2,206, Level: 28
Activity: 0% Activity: 0% Activity: 0%
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: mexico
Posts: 552
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mk-4gasm View Post
Did you really join the site to respond to a post that is 4 years old?
seriously... its getting absurd....
Reply With Quote
Reply

  VW Forum :: Volkswagen Forum > The Xtra's > The Xtras



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.10
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.1.0
VWforum.com is a Volkswagen/VW Forum and enthusiast site and is not associated with VW/Volkswagen in any way.
  • AutoForums.com
  • Truck
  • European
  • Import
  • Domestic
  • Manufacturer

AutoForums.com is the premier network of enthusiast-owned enthusiast-operated automotive communities.
We operate more than 100 automotive forums where our users consult peers for shopping information and advice, and share experiences and opinions as a community.

Visit AutoForums.com today.

For advertising information, please visit our AutoForums.com website and Contact Us, or send an email message to sales@autoforums.com.