VW Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
364 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I was thinking of putting a 16v in my bunny but not sure on what motor is better, 2.0 or 1.8. some say 2.0 some say 1.8 and some say 2.0 with 1.8 head. I was kind of leaning toward a 2.0 with a 1.8 head, I was told 1.8 head have bigger ports.

I also am not sure on the fuel system, I would like to change every thing to the right side for the air box and use everything out of a 90 2.0 with CIS. and I'm also wondering if I should change the fuel pump or can I use the stock rabbit pump. I'm new to 16v, I'm used to solid 8v but would like a rabbit to have sick top end. Any help would be good.
THANKS

·
Registered
5,109 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by solidinside:
I was thinking of putting a 16v in my bunny but not sure on what motor is better, 2.0 or 1.8. some say 2.0 some say 1.8 and some say 2.0 with 1.8 head. I was kind of leaning toward a 2.0 with a 1.8 head, I was told 1.8 head have bigger ports.

I also am not sure on the fuel system, I would like to change every thing to the right side for the air box and use everything out of a 90 2.0 with CIS. and I'm also wondering if I should change the fuel pump or can I use the stock rabbit pump. I'm new to 16v, I'm used to solid 8v but would like a rabbit to have sick top end. Any help would be good.
THANKS
<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>

Most people use what they can get when it comes to 16vs. If you can find a 2L... use it, it's better, and the CIS-Motronic system that comes with it is better (although harder to install). Swapping to a 1.8L head isn't really worth it unless you're swapping heads anyways.