VW Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 1987 VW Golf, with a rebuilt engine
(I was told it's a GT with 5,000 miles on it at the time of purchase, 3 years ago.)

One of my problems for three years now is that after driving for a while (=until the engine gets hot) my oil pressure light comes on flickering and even starts buzzing. I was advised by some mechanic three years ago, that the oil in the car was probably of the wrong kind, and that I should get 20w50 type oil. Many oilchanges later the problem still persists. Could it be that I keep using the wrong kind of oil, or could it be that my oil pressure sensor is wrong? What is the correct oil grade for a VW Golf GT?

Thanks in advance, Gabor

PS. I am not good with fixing my car myself, so I will probably have to ask a mechanic to check whatever I am advised to check.

·
Registered
423 Posts
To me it sounds like that the oil sending unit is bad. But not bad enough to fully fail. If I were you I would just change it or have it changed. When you first start it after a full cold soak (Overnight outside) is the light on?? After the car has been running for about 5 min does the light go out? I think the oil you use is 10w30. But if that was me i would use 20w50 in summer and 0w30 or 5w30 in the winter.

Just my .02!

[ March 11, 2003: Message edited by: A3VeeWee ]

·
Premium Member
1,760 Posts
Replace the oil pressure switch and maybe the oil pump too.But change the switch first.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
When you say "oil sending unit", do you mean
"oil pump"?

When the engine is cold, the light is not on. I need to drive around for couple of minutes before the problem starts. When I drive on the highway, it may take longer, since the problem tends to go away at 3200 rpm.

I have not noticed any decline in the gas mileage of my car in the past 3 years (cca 27 miles per gallon), so I was thinking that