VW Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Son has a hi mileage GTI VR6 but had regular service records.It had a CEL with P0016 code but it ran pretty good. He has had to drive it for a while. Now after driving about 20 miles it will cut off. It will crank but not start. If you leave it sit for a couple of hours it starts fine and runs good for another 15-20 miles. One time it did it the EPC light came on. Left it parked for a while and came back. Restarted and drove fine no ECP light. Had the codes read and now it has a P0018 along with the P0016. Don't know if the P0018 is new or happened recently as the CEL has been on a while. The codes reference the cam position sensors. In everybody's experience on here what are the chances that new sensors would correct the problem? I know with my luck it probalbly needs a new timing chain but that probably won't happen. I am a pretty good mechanic but changing the chain on this thing is really extensive and requires special holding fixtures, is this correct? Having it done is out of my price range. Thanks for any advice

Thanks

Ed

·
Registered
3,144 Posts
this is exactly what the code means, from rosstech wiki.

16400/P0016/000022 - Bank 1: Camshaft Position Sensor (G40) / Engine Speed Sensor (G28 ) : Incorrect Correlation

Possible Symptoms
Malfunction Indicator Light (MIL) ON

Possible Causes
Timing Issue
Camshaft Adjuster

Possible Solutions
Check Setting of Timing Belt
Check Timing of Intake/Exhaust Cams
Check Cam Adjusters as per Repair Manual

Special Notes
When found in 2009 Audi A4, A5 or Q5 with 3.2FSI AVE Engines, please see TSB 15-09-04.
On engines with chain driven intake camshaft(s), but belt driven exhaust camshaft(s), verify the number of chain roller links between the intake and exhaust camshafts is correct.

heres the link to the page, it has a diagram that might help at the bottom:
16400/P0016/000022 - Ross-Tech Wiki

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #3