VW Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Alright guys,

I just found this site, signed up and now I am here. I am planning on aquiring a Series III Jetta while I am home in May. I currently own an Rx-7 and am looking for a more reliable, college car. I have always admired the Mid 90's Jetta and can't wait to buy one. I am a very good mechanic so naturally I want to know a lot about the car before I purchase it. If I could get websites with great information, performance stuff, etc along with some just general tips about buying these cars. Any and all help would be great. Thanks a lot guys.

·
Premium Member
9,072 Posts
The Jetta is a solid sedan all around. I know many dubbers that have 100...200K+ miles on some of theirs. If well maintained as in any car it will last you a long time. Most likey if you are looking to get the MK3 version which is 1993 to 1999 you will probably get a 2.0 or VR6. Both are solid engine with lots of potential.

Nothing jumps out as a concern for me. Welcome to VWF!

·
Registered
335 Posts
owning a 2.0 liter is a lot of fun...unless you plan on getting a lot of power out of it. i know there are probably going to be a lot of disagreeing responses to this, but of the three engine choices (1.8T, 2.0, and VR6), i would go with the VR6 whenever given the choice. i only say this because i own and have modified the 2.0L. don't get me wrong: i put 40,000 miles on this car in less than a year, and it runs beautifully. 120,000 total mileage, and still strong. if you are looking for reliability, volkswagen delivers. and then some! but if you are looking for something close to your old car, i encourage you to seek the VR6. either way, vdubs are college-proof. for website info, i find all the addresses i need in Sport Compact Car, Eurotuner, and VW Performance magazines. Barnes & Nobles sells them all.

·
Registered
1,262 Posts