VW Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking to purchase a 2003 GLS 1.8t and I'm wondering is ESP worth having? Would it later become any sort of problem lets say when I decide to tamper with suspension mods? Or, would it be in my favor to have it for better "stabilization"? Or is just added weight that doesn't do a whole lot? Any input would great. I am new to the VW sceene and still curious.

[ April 02, 2003: Message edited by: dubnewbie ]

·
Registered
3,658 Posts
It's worth having. I think with the ESP, if you turn the ASR button off, it will also disable the ESP. Actualy, i think my dads TT had the ESP button instead of ASR. So either way it should turn off both i think.
jon

·
Registered
223 Posts
hehe That didnt make any sense well anyway I have the 03 GTI with the ESP package anyway this is what ESP is all about: traction control, if you are in a high speed your abs braking system works more safely so that you dont end up duing a 360 also esp controls your suspention system if you are going at high speed and your tires start slipping to the left or right your gas padel aka gas trurns off whats another way of saying it cant give no more gas but on the other hand if u turn off ur ESP u are able to do everything burn outs hit high speed on curves but its not safe enough so basically ESP is about being safe in ur GTI

·
Registered
3,450 Posts
<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Helvetica, sans-serif">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by SilverstoneGTI: