VW Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to VWs. Just purchased 2001 Golf GLS 1.8T, auto, 162,000 miles. Nice condition, runs great for twenty or so miles, then the oil pressure light starts flashing. Stop engine, restart, runs great for some more miles (haven't gone far enough to check whether it comes back on or not), but lots of lifter noise when I get out the car and open the hood. Oil level on maximum. Oil/filter changed by dealer in Chicago before car was transported here to Michigan U.P..
I've read much on sludge, oil pickup tubes getting blocked on 1.8T. Were it not for the lifter noise I'd guess it was a bad sender, but I hate not having an oil pressure gauge. They should be standard gear on all turbo engines.
Any comments would be appreciated, but here's what I specifically need to know:

1. Where does an oil pressure gauge sender unit fit, if I fit one? I read that there's possibly take-offs somewhere around the oil cooler, but can't locate the oil cooler (Man, it's well packed in under that hood!). Will a mechanical gauge work, or do I need an electrical one? Will the standard sender supplied with a gauge, fit?

2. If a gauge indicates low oil pressure, can the sump pan be removed easily to clean the oil pickup pipe, or will half the suspension need to be removed first?

3. Is the oil pump accessible once the sump pan is removed, in case it's faulty and needs changing? Is it a straight-forward job?

4. Here's my plan of action (critiques or alternatives gratefully received): I guess I need to know how the oil pressure is behaving, so first I need to fit a pressure gauge. Will a cheapy from Advance Auto work? If the pressure's low, I'll do the Seafoam treatment and see if that improves matters. If not, try and remove the sump pan to clean oil pickup pipe and possibly replace oil pump. If that doesn't work, curse, kick car, and beat wife (not necessarily in that order!).