VW Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Bear with me please I'm new to this. My son's 2002 Jetta wagon 2.0L. The car has had some sort of small coolant leak for a while needing antifreeze added every so often and I'm guessing it has been getting worse he just didn't realize it but I don't know that for sure. My son left for Alaska a few weeks ago and my husband decided to use the car a few days ago (we don't like to let it sit for too long and his car was going to have some work done). When he got in he realized the floor on the passenger side was soaked. There was some fast food trash and a few other items on the floor all soaked and on closer inspection the carpet (black so hard to see) was also soaked. He described a puddle and although he has a way of exaggerating these things it certainly wasn't good. It has been pouring here for a couple of weeks, maybe longer so plenty of water to back u[p or accumulate from somewhere. Now I didn't see it until after he "bailed it out" and pulled out the carpet foot pad's but I didn't smell antifreeze and it didn't feel slimy or anything to me. But he did bring a sample of the liquid in while cleaning it out for me to smell and look at because he thought it might be antifreeze. Again it didn't have any scent or look of it to me, then again if it's mixed with enough water who knows. My husband also swears the rug is also wet on the backseat passenger floor and on the drivers side but when I touched it it didn't feel wet to me. There was a small spot of dampness but remember we have flooding everywhere so everything is wet and opening any car door or getting into a car makes the carpet damp.... Then while driving he noticed water (or something) coming in from the two plastic tube like things (vents?) that come in from under the dash along the middle hump (sort of) of the passenger side foot area. It is obviously steadily coming in there and when I reach in as far as I can the tubes are open