VW Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Yea, i am new to the VW game i just got my car last week, but i hear the APR chip is great for the 1.8T engine. So i have the money for it, but i don't understand how it is installed/programed. I heard that you have to mail your ECU out to get it done. I dont know a ton about cars and would appreciate any info (as specific as possible)as to how i go about getting the APR chip in MY car.
[email protected]

·
Registered
273 Posts
i have also looked into an apr, but do not have the money. as far as i could tell, you need to mail it in because taking it apart and putting it back together is not something you can do yourself.
also: you have the 2001 or '03 wolfsburg because i'm wondering the difference between them (i think it's just a spoiler, leather e-brake, and 30hp?)

·
Registered
3,658 Posts
Well the other chip you might want to look at is GIAC. I know there's a dealer right in Philly that installs it so you would have to send it off. i think it's AWE tuning. here's GIAC's website. www.giacusa.com they are about even with APR. between those two, i feel it comes down to who's closer. If your set on APR though, i know there's a dealer in baltimore which isn't to far away. here's apr's website www.goapr.com
HTH
jon

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have the 2001 Wolfsburg, yea the new 1.8T's are nice the extra 30HP would be great. Do you know how much of the power from the chip will actually make it to the wheels? Anyone know?

·
Registered
1,425 Posts