VW Forum banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all, just bought a 2000 Jetta glx vr6 12V with a 5speed manual. Looking for a beater for back and forth to work and snagged this for 400 Canadian. Was cheap because it has a few issues. I’m a red seal automotive mechanic but don’t have a lot of experience in VW land. Most in-depth I went was a timing belt on a golf that was 100000 overdue and sounded like a tdi. Guy only came in cause it overheated when the plastic fins came off the water pump. So gonna need a service manual. Can anyone recommend a good dealer level one. Either download or hard copy. I’m looking at launch cr8001s scantool cause I have an airbag fault and abs fault. And intermittently the triangle light will be on. And a couple times the triangle light will flash and I’ll loose throttle response Until I downshift. I also have the fluctuating speedo which I have read can be caused by damaged/ worn splines on the shaft for the trans speed sensor but have not confirmed yet. Could lack of signal from sensor Cause loss of throttle response? Guy I bought it from took out the variable intake tube but not the bushing on the passenger side, so I’m assuming that’s somewhere in the right hand intake or cylinders. He said the person he bought it off said the lifters were stuck. How common would it be for stuck lifter to damage cam lobe in these engines? Borrowed a friends BASIC code reader and got p0300 p0302 p0304. Was getting sort of an exhaust leaky sound. Slight smell under hood so thought I might have had loose plug but all were tight. Had those plugs with an electrode on either side thou didn’t look too bad. But as a mechanic I know some engines need certain plugs, can anyone tell me what plug was factory or what works best? I swapped plugs front to rear and cleared the codes. Hasn’t come back yet. But still running ruff. Previous owner also pulled the airbox and put a Chrome elbow pipe on it. It’s definitely running rich caus