VW Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'll start by introducing myself, My name is james and I am a car stereo installer by trade. I have been doing it for 10 years and sent cars to sema and ces, so if you have any stereo questions, feel free to shoot them my way.

But on with the story, I was driving my wife's 2000 2.slow jetta yesterday on the freeway, when the car stuttered and begin flashing the check engine lights. I started to slow to move to the right, when i hit the brakes, the car put out a huge puff of white smoke and promptly died. After getting the car towed home and staring at if for a bit, freinds and i came to the conclusion that the head gasket had probably blown. (as it had been replaced a year ago, and i had used a napa gasket).

So i read the obd2, 2 codes, misfire cylinder 3, and cylinder 4. not much info so I started to pull the intake maniflold and one of the first vacuum lines i pulled (a small one coming off the brake booster line) is full of oil. then when i removed the top half of the manifold and out comes, probably 4 oz. of motor oil. WTF?
I forgot to mention that before getting ready to remove the head/manifold I tried to rotate the engine to TDC, and motor jams, so im thinking that the maybe the timing belt slipped or something.......

anways, At this point i thought id stop and do some research before i went forward?????? Any suggestions or opinions?????????

thanks in advance!

·
Registered
517 Posts
Remove all of the spark plugs and see if it can be turned over by hand. If so, then do a compression test.

If not.....Pull the upper timing cover and line up the timing marks to see if the belt jumped. One is on the cam sprocket, the other is in a small window on the top of the transmission

Look for the obvious...is the coil in good shape? Is it the original coil? They are known to crack at the base of the towers causing misfires and rough running.

·
Premium Member
1,454 Posts