VW Forum banner

1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

New visitor to forum, had VW 73 beetle long time ago, was best car ever. Oh well no more cars made like that anymore..
Anyways over 40 years later...am driving 2001 Jetta AZG 2.0. Bought it 6 years ago with 120k miles..did stuff here and there to keep her runnin. Fans, radiator, installed rebuilt alternator, fixed rebuilt alternator myself, timing belt, water pump, fan controllers 2 times, ended up bypassing them a year ago and using temp controlled relays. Car was damaged about 2 years ago when I forgot to attach a radiator hose properly..overheated at that moment...used block sealer year ago..tranny started getting notchy into first last year checked tranny was dry...added gear oil problem gone..
and still kept her runnin..I normally drive about 60 miles per day 55 of those highway, in addition to other trips. I do not exceed 70mph and do baby the pedal when I drive. As you can see I am not a pro tech but I just keep it runnin.

Now, at 278000 miles I have a new and challenging issue to deal with!

Driving along 40 mph, temp normal, ac on, no previous issues..Car suddenly dies. I mean really dies. Starter will turn motor but doesn't fire up. Was with my kids did quick look at timing belt, had fuel, but was getting late so had it towed vs trying to fix on site..was a good decision not to try at that time.

So, once at my base of operations I began my tests.
fuses- all good at side of door area
fuses-all good at engine area
Spark-yes pulled cable and did spark test,wasnt brightest ever but should have fired up.
Fuel-had mom switch ignition key to on while I listened to fuel pump, it made normal sound, also had voltage.
Fuel-sprayed thrust starter spray into manifold and cranked..did not fire up.
tried detach battery cable and re attach to see if ecu? nothing still did not fire.

So I went into more detail: