VW Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
909 Posts
it really depends on your skill level. most of your connections will be made at the factory security module located behind your headlight switch. the parking lights are a little tricky, and the unlock requires a double pulse to unlock all doors.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
im pritty good with working on cars and have been doing it for a while, just on chevys only, so i'm new to this whole volkswagon set up, and had no idea where to start on this car. im not worried about hooking up the parking lights. and what do you mean by double pulse to unlock all doors? do you mean i just have to hit unlock 2ce on the pad, or is it extra wiring?

·
Registered
547 Posts
Get it professionally done. Then it is guaranteed to work and if you ever have any problems you can come back in and get it worked on at no charge. Come see Jay (halfofnothing) at Tweeter or me at Circuit City. We are trained and do these regularly.

·
Premium Member
4,477 Posts
omfg said:
Get it professionally done. Then it is guaranteed to work and if you ever have any problems you can come back in and get it worked on at no charge. Come see Jay (halfofnothing) at Tweeter or me at Circuit City. We are trained and do these regularly.
Listen to this guy...where I work we do Viper remote starts/keyless entry and I don't care how good you are at working on cars, you can fuck up a lot of stuff when dealing with a remote start especially on a VW. It's actually against the law for us to sell just the start to someone because of how badly it might screw up their wiring.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
well im not gana bother with the remote start part of it, im just buying it for the keyless entry system. and i relaly would rather install that myself being as i dont think doing just the keyless entry is that hard, and im a broke college student and barley have enough money to buy the system its self.

·
Registered
909 Posts