VW Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey All,

I just bought a used 2004 Golf, and I'm looking for some tips on ways to keep it running as long as possible. It's got about 77,000 miles on it, and I just had to replace the cam position sensor, as well as clean out the fuel system and get a new fuel filter. What else can I expect to replace soon to keep it running?

This is my first car purchase, so I'm new to the game. Any tips and advice are greatly appreciated!

Thanks

·
Premium Member
9,716 Posts
best tip i can give any new car owner..

drain that oil in there. put your own in.. so you know when it was done and what is exactly in it.
run the oil.. dump it on schedule changes.. follow the service for oil changes for 2.0L in your owners manual.

keep your air filter clean, keep your oil changed, spark plugs changed, common maitenence, that motor will last u

·
Registered
3,759 Posts
Thats one hell of a first car. My first car was a 91 cougar. I bought it when I was 15 for $240. I did'nt even know how to drive, I was test driving it and the guy was like "are you sure you know how to drive" as i replied "not really". Then I through a rod a month later after taking it on the freeway with low oil.

·
Registered
1,869 Posts
before or at 100k to 120k I would have accomplished all of the following (a lot of this is included in scheduled maintanance):

-disconnect the negative terminal and remove all of the fuses and relays and clean them with some deoxit. Oxidation on VWs electrical gets bad when the get old

-clean the T28 connector at the instrument cluster with a wire brush and Deoxit.

-clean the MAF in a zip lock bag of isopropyl alcohol

-change out the vacuum lines

-change plugs and wires

-Clean the intake thoroughly

-Sea foam the shit out of the intake, gas, and oil

-do the timing belt and water pump

-shoot air down the sunroof and door drains

-retighten the rear lenses and clean the rear bulb trays