VW Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, I'm cruising along yesterday in my almost-new 2002 1.8t (2000 miles) when the MIL indicator light comes on. I called VW service today and they said they can't have it in 'till a week from now. I can't see or hear anything wrong w/ the car....is it OK to keep driving?
thanks.

·
Registered
60 Posts
I've had the same thing happen to my '02 1.8t three times. Luckily I work in a garage and can check the code myself..same codes every time.. p0300, p0301 and p0302 basically all misfire codes..usually occured when I started to drive car aggresively after cold start up without letting car completely warm up...service advisor at local VW store told me that the BERU spark plugs for our cars would eliminate misfire glitch, haven't tried it yet...you could go by an Autozone or maybe Pepboys, they could scan it and let you know the codes stored..good luck...

·
Registered
119 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Excellent, thanks so much for the reply! So if I got Bosch platinum spark plugs, would that help? 'cause it's damn annoying to have the light keep coming up....anyway, I'll ask the dealer what codes it gave. Thanks again...
-Luis

·
Registered
26 Posts
Hey guys, new question to an old topic... I have about 2,500 miles on my 2002 GTI 1.8 and just last night I didn't let the engine warm up and bang, the MIL light goes on. I was hoping when I started the car this morning and let the engine warm up it would go off, but it didn't!!
I also installed an AEM cold air intake 2 weekends ago, would that maybe have something to do with it?

I really hate having to run into the dealership because I work full time (long hours usually) and never really have time to run in. Is there any way I can check this myself with my laptop? What kind of connectors/software would I need to run? I know some of you guys do this yourself and I'd love to learn how to do it too...

·
Registered
111 Posts