VW Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Knows nothing about VWs
Joined
·
6,954 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited by Moderator)
This thread was built to house all of the helpful DIYs that members have added to the forum throughout the years for the MKIV model Dub for ease of searching for our members.
We will try to separate and classify them all correctly under a subtopic, but our laziness may get the better of us. If you have a modification, maintenance, or just something that you did that you feel is awesome, let a mod know and we will try to link it here.

Braking

Changing brake fluid / brake fluid flush - video - ecstuning - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f111/ecs-tuning-how-change-your-brake-fluid-diy-video-55809/#post411974
Painting Calipers http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-painting-calipers-54327/

Big Brake upgrade http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/jetta-audi-tt-front-rotors-diy-42178/

Stock Brake Pad/Rotor Maitenence (Fubardub) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/mk4-rotors-pads-1-8t-vr6-specific-40910/

Engine/transmission:

Transmission Fluid change. O2J specific 5 speed.
http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/fluid-change-o2j-transmission-5-speed-56465/
1.8T Valve Cover Gasket Replacement Video. http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/1-8t-valve-cover-gasket-removal-install-video-53035/

Cleaning MAF sensor 1.8T specific. http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-cleaning-maf-sensor-54023/

Axle / Spindle Removal & Installation - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/mkiv-axles-spindles-diy-53161/

Removal / Installation of Cam Shaft Adjuster gasket aka "Blue half moon" gasket (1.8t) - http://http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/changing-camshaft-adjuster-gasket-plug-without-removing-camshafts-1-8l-52720/

How To Scan Your Car (video) - http://http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-scanning-vehicle-obd-2-code-reader-video-52136/

1.8T sparkplug removal and install VIDEO - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/1-8t-sparkplug-removal-install-video-52109/

Motor Mount Upgrade to Poly Bushings (black forest industries shown) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-replace-your-motor-mounts-bfi-mounts-51823/

Coolant Temp Sensor Change (12v VR6 Shown) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-easy-12v-mkiv-vr6-coolant-temp-sensor-diy-10-30-mins-50298/

Oil Change (1.8t Demonstrated) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-oil-change-mk4-specific-49246/

Radiator Flush / Fill (GTI/Jetta)- http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mk4-jetta-golf-gti-radiator-flush-video-50139/

Radiator Replacement (1.8t GTI shown same for all mk4's) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/mk4-radiator-replacement-diy-51597/

Fuel Filter Replacement - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-change-fuel-filter-mk4-video-52170/#post383570
http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mk4-jetta-golf-fuel-filter-replacement-49007/

Seafoam / Fuel Filter Replacement (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-filter-replacement-adding-seafoam-video-tutorial-49626/

Dogbone install - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-dogbone-removal-install-40464/

Vacuum reservoir relocation - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-vaccuum-resi-relocation-40476/

Polished Intake Manifold (2.0 Shown) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/polished-intake-manifold-48312/

VR6 Intake Manifold Shift Rod // Diagnosis & Install - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/vr6-2001-glx-noise-intake-shifter-rod-45450/index2.html#post354484

VR6 Intake Manifold Shift Rod Removal / Install (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mk4-vw-vr6-12v-intake-manifold-shiftrod-install-50983/

1.8T Alternator Removal / Install (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-remove-replace-alternator-mk4-1-8t-video-84258/

Suspension:

Coilover Wraps - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-coilover-wraps-56203/#post414506

Control Arm Bushing removal/install - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mk4-control-arm-bushings-55281/

Coilover install - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-coilover-install-lots-o-pics-40463/

Rear Shock removal and install - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mk4-rear-shock-removal-install-53443/

Interior:

Door Card Refurbishing - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/budget-door-panel-refurb-repair-diy-55734/

Replacing Cabin Filter - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/how-change-cabin-filter-1-8t-52385/

Plasti-dipping Interior Door Handles - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-plasti-dipping-your-interior-door-handles-53582/

Climate Control Panel Bulb Replacement - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-replace-climate-control-panel-bulb-52744/#post391009

Upgrading Speakers / Speaker Replacement - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/speaker-replacement-diy-pic-heavy-53068/

Repairing a torn surround on a speaker - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-repairing-torn-surround-speaker-63921/#post452721

Headliner (From beige To Baller Status in 1 weekend) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mk4-jetta-headliner-mod-49039/

Manually open your sunroof - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-manually-open-close-sunroof-64657/

Deodorized Interior (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-deodorizing-vehicles-interior-video-52137/

Vinyl/hardwood hatch floor - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-vinyl-hardwood-floor-trunk-hatch-40475/

Dash Vent Removal / Installation (video) http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mkiv-dash-vent-removal-48145/

Stock Radio Removal (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-stock-stereo-removal-video-48285/

Head Light Switch Removal / Installation (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mkiv-headlight-switch-removal-video-48267/ **fold over the pin labeled TFL to get rid of the daytime running lights**

*** Day Time Running Light Disable *** http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/how-disable-daytime-running-lighs-48866/

Stop Light Switch Replacement DIY - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-stoplight-switch-replacement-52064/

Bullet Casing Door Lock Pins - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-380-bullet-casing-door-lock-pins-51616/

Alarm / Horn upgrade (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-volkswagen-mkiv-stock-alarm-keyless-entry-horn-upgrade-video-52135/

Key Fob Dis-assemble (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f100/diy-volkswagen-key-fob-dissembly-video-52193/

Boost Gauge DIY - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-boost-gauge-install-52529/


Exterior:

Polishing Wheels. http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-wheel-polishing-53677/

How To Change Antenna - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-replacing-stock-antenna-stubby-antenna-52098/

Wheel Refinishing / Restoration for Paint - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-wheel-refinishing-lots-o-pics-50448/

Spray painting wheels - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-spray-paint-your-wheels-52000/

Bumper / Headlight Removal & Install http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-remove-install-headlights-front-bumper-jetta-48859/

Hood/Hatch strut polishing - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-polished-hood-hatch-struts-40472/

Tow Hook install - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-bumper-vent-mod-tow-hook-40792/#post320332

Antenna Removal / Repair - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-mkiv-antenna-removal-repair-48147/

HID Retrofit: Big Kenny's Retrofit: http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/my-hid-retrofit-48105/

Front License Plate // Hole-less Bumper Mount - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-no-holes-front-bumper-mount-48231/

Joey Mod Headlights - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-joey-mod-mk4-gti-golf-48315/

Polishing Headlights / Foggy Lenses - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-polishing-your-foggy-plastic-headlights-48494/

Replacing Plastic Headlight Lenses With Glass (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-install-glass-replacement-headlight-lenses-mk4-jetta-84266/

Removing Rear Emblems (does not include vw emblem) http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/non-vw-emblem-removal-50928/

Window Tint - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/window-tint-diy-enjoy-bitches-52684/

Reflector (Bumper / Fender ) Light Removal / Bulb Replacement / Light Replacement - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-reflector-light-removal-51573/

Reflector (Bumper / fender) Light Removal / Bulb Replacement / Light Replacement (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/vw-mk4-bumper-fender-marker-removal-install-video-51574/

Remove Headlights and Front Bumper (video) - http://www.vwforum.com/forums/f15/diy-how-remove-headlights-front-bumper-57405/


***********************************************************************************************************************************
We accept no responsibility of the use or misuse of this information, We neither endorse or support the idea that these are all encompassing or even correct (we will try to filter the best of the best though)

Please attempt at your own risk and observe all safety procedures and verify that you have a ride to the hospital before attempting, We are not liable for your stupidity while attempting any of these mods.
 
1 - 1 of 1 Posts
Status
Not open for further replies.
Top