VW Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I apologize for the length of this post; I have several questions about a car that I am considering purchasing. I have done a significant amount of research into this purchase, but still have some unanswered questions. I also apologize if this is in the wrong forum of this messageboard--I am a NooB (to this board AND to dubs in general)

A little background on myself is necessary for accurate responses.

I currently, and have my entire life, resided in Colorado. As such, my ("spirited") driving tendencies have focused less on straight line acceleration, and more on hard cornering (with the CO mountains, who could resist?). I also need to be able to drive on snow and ice; FWD is obviously better for this than RWD, although, this comes with the sacrifice of cornering ability on dry pavement.

I have (at my young age) owned a plethora of cars already, including a highly modified 1989 Mazda RX-7 (N/A), 1972 Chevrolet Chevelle, 1995 Chevrolet Cavalier (yuck!), and my current car, 1994 Mazda MX-6. I've also driven several friend's cars, including a 1988 Nissan 300ZX(turbo)(BPU engine mods, stock suspension), 1994 VW Corrado SLC (VR6)(suspension/brake mods, stock engine/exhaust/intake), 1999 Saab 93 (turbo)(stock), 2000 Subaru 2.5RS (suspension and mild engine mods). 1999 Chevrolet Firebird(V6)(stock). 1988 Ford Mustang LX (5.0 V8) (intake/exhaust)

Obviously, I'm no stranger to sport-oriented vehicles, both RWD and FWD (and AWD).

I am now considering the purchase of my friend's mkIII (1997) Jetta GLX. I feel that a sedan more suits my current needs in a vehicle than a 2-seater, or a 2+2 coupe. I need cargo space, and the ability to drive my girlfriend and a friend or two around fairly comfortably. I also demand having a decent amount of power under my foot and the ability to stop quickly if I need to. I love mountain driving, spirited or not, so good handling is a must as well.