VW Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Please don't shoot me for the basic questions, I'm new to Vw.

2004 GTI 1.8t stock

Oil Changes. I plan To do these myself. The dealer said not to use synthetic oil until I hit 10,0000 miles. Is this correct?
Somebody also suggested changing the oil durring the break in period around 1000 miles. Is this a good idea.

Looking for a good shop in Northern NJ.

Any suggestions for Audio and Tint in Northern NJ.

Stock looking headlights that I can add Foglights to. (VR6 headlights from dealer $300 each ouch!.)

Thanks

·
Registered
4,993 Posts
Nothing is special about the oil. Run the car to 5K and then switch to synthetic...the motor should be broken in after the first 1500 miles or so, run it to 5K and then switch.

·
Registered
291 Posts
Where abouts in northern NJ are you? There are a few places I know of in NJ but i dunno how close you are. Also dont forget when using synthetic oil the oil filter still has to be changed every 3000 miles even if the oil isnt.

·
Registered
291 Posts
oh yea and by the way welcome to the VWF family...almsot forgot that

·
Registered
4,993 Posts
Its just oil and filter together every 5,000 man. If running conventional oil I would change every 3,000 (oil and filter), synthetic every 5,000 (oil and filter).

·
Registered
1,881 Posts
As for the lights with fogs. I know yo can get new ones from several sites like tm-tuning. Look in the pull down menu at the top of the home page.

Another option would be to find a pre-2003 GTI at a junk yard, which all came with the fogs, and pilfer their lights. I am pretty sure the 2K3 is the year they dummed down the lights...

·
Registered
2,494 Posts
Dealership in Northern NJ? Well, where do you work again Carson?

That would be your best bet, seeing as how Carson is a VW certified Tech. Pretty cool to be able to get to know your Tech before you ever even take the car in...

·
Premium Member
3,219 Posts