VW Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok so i have a 2002 337 1.8t i have a p0420 code that keeps coming back well i installed a new turbo to bumper exhaust and im still getting the code so i looked at the data with my modis and i have a 0.00 readin on both short and long trim up and down stream sensors no matter cold start wot idle nothing changes they stay at 0.00 i dont know the Mk4 plat for so im here asking for some advice. im a mechanic and have the tools so please not dumb down any responces. thank you!!

·
Registered
517 Posts
Are you reading live data or a freeze frame shot?

Does it go into closed loop?

What about O2 voltage readings? What do they look like?

·
Registered
39 Posts
I would say ground issue i had a 2001 a4 with the 1.8t and thats what it was. I ended up replacing the harness for both up and down stream and then got my normal readings.

·
MK4 & MK5 Owner
8,444 Posts
P0420 code is usually caused by more exhaust flow. It's just an emissions related code. I had it when I put a larger exhaust on without a cat. converter. Most people run an o2 spacer or code it out with software.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
ok who offers a code out program that will allow me to pass nysi and this was on before and after i replaced the cats.. also i think the 0.00 read out on the data streem from the o2. has something to do with it. i have a year to solve this issue so im looking for all options. i also installed a 3 in stainless systerm that its a cat cut out for the car from vw proformance. and its still there. i have heard that the secondary air system can cause this code as well

·
Registered
3,143 Posts
someone with vagcom can code out the 02 sensors i believe. unitronics stage 2 codes them out too.

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter #9