VW Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never used a forum before, so please bear with me! Also, please save your hateraide for other forums...I already know my mistake (read the following)
So I bought an 03 Passat GLX V6 Auto, 91k bone stock, visual and driving inspection: No issues! Runs GREAT (no tranny issues, either), looks great NO LEAKS...so what's the problem you ask?
I went to change the plugs/wires and found OIL (A LOT, not just a little)inside of the actual plug hole (I'm sure there IS a mechanical term for this...) ONLY on the RIGHT (facing engine) front, cylinder. I pulled the wires on all 3, and ALL 3 have oil where my spark plugs live and the wires cover them. I have NOT driven nor started the vehicle since finding this.

HOW? WHY? WHERE is this oil coming from?? Any ideas or help would greatly be appreciated!!

Semper Fi!

·
Registered
322 Posts
My guess would be valve cover gasket.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks for the reply! I was hoping it was something as simple as this...I say simple?? I'm a shade-tree mechanic...by far not a gear head or a grease monkey! As far as the tools involved, I have enough to get me by, the basics that is. Any special tools? How long would this take to even get to the gasket? Also, damage control...HOW am I to get that oil out of the 3 spark plug "holes"? Would there be major consequences if a little oil was left (little as in what I can't get out)

Thank you again!!

·
Registered
63 Posts
These oddly shaped valve covers have individual gaskets for each spark plug.

Don't overtighten the cover bolts. Make or buy a torque wrench and find the specs for these bolts.

With hardware store springs, known quantities of water as weights, a ruler and a calculator you can turn any wrench into a torque wrench.

You're welcome! :D

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Quick Question

DIY-