VW Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys, this is my first post on here. I work at Ultimate Z, a Nissan/Datsun/Infinity oriented tuning shop near Chicago, and we have a customer with a Jetta who's interested in turbocharging it. Since I'm a Nissan expert, and I can admit that I don't know much about VW's, I came here to get some help. Are there any kits available to do this modification or is it going to require custom fabrication? He's interested in HKS GT series, if there are any available, but I don't know of any kits offered by HKS. Any input is welcome. Thanks ahead of time.
And I'm sorry if this is something covered daily, I just feel that this instance is unique since have turbocharging experience, and are capable of doing the work (unlike many who probably ask), but we've never done it to this particular car.

·
Registered
3,658 Posts
What year is his 2.0? Is it a MK4? If so then i would say get the Neuspeed S/C. Let us know what year it is and that will help us narrow what to look for.
thanks
jon

·
Registered
8,124 Posts
What Year is the car?
Either way I would turbo it, neuspeed SC's provide crappy gains for the money they cost. ATP will be your biggest help, they have partial turbo kits for both the mk3 and mk4 2.0l's.
For mk3: ATP's kit gives
1993-1998 Golf/Jetta/GTI MKIII 2.0L 8V
200HP
$2750
For Mk4:
1999-2002 Golf/Jetta/GTI MKIV 2.0L 8V

175HP
$2150
or
200HP
$2950

They use Garret turbos. If the customer is set on using an HKS turbo, ATP also sells the random parts indivudually, like the exhaust manifold, the IC piping kits, ect.. If you can give us the year of his car we can prodive you with more case specific information.

·
Registered
8,124 Posts
all mk4's have the same 2.0l engine.