VW Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
27 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Regular Intake VS. CAI

I have been trying fo figure out where to best spend my hard earned money and after talking with some buddies and getting info from this forum I have decided to get and intake(But not a CAI??) and a down pipe (or muffler???) before getting the chip. I was wondering about two things;

1) I was told not to get a CAI in Florida because I could go through a puddle and cause a vapor lock. Is this true? And will it make a difference in HP to get a regular intake as opposed to a CAI.

2) One guy at one shop said to get a 3 inch down pipe and another guy said I don't need it because my computer will override it, he then said all I needed to do was cut the muffler?

This is all so new and I'm so confused!!!

·
Registered
75 Posts
Regular Intake VS. CAI

an "intake" IS a CAI (Cold Air Induction)...i dont know how it would react in FLA, and im no expert in CAI's on vw's, but the ones ive had on past cars didnt ever cause any problems and i did get some HP gains...i HEAR that CAI's on mk4's dont make that much difference...my k&n filter didnt...

as far as the downpipe...what that means is the pipe that comes out of your turbo and goes to the catylitic converter and the muffler...just a downpipe isnt gonna give you that much gain, but a whole new exhaust AND a downpipe would give you a better gain, since you want to chip it, i would get exhaust and intake FIRST ,then make sure you tell the chip maker what you have so the chip can be optimized.

by "cut the muffler" i assume he meant "off"...that would give you SOME hp, but is probably illeagal....

just my .02

·
Registered
1,425 Posts
Regular Intake VS. CAI